04 Apr 2013

A Joint Initiative of State Resource Centre, ADRI, Ranchi and Prabhat Khabar

The State Resource Centre, ADRI, Ranchi and Prabhat Khabar, Jharkhand chapter, a joint forum for the literacy initiative in Jharkhand hosted the 8th annual ‘Akshar Jharkhand' programme on 4th April, 2013 at Vichar auditorium, C.C.L. headquater, Darbhanga House, Ranchi from afternoon 2 p.m. onwards.

The felicitation programme was chaired by Sh. Harivansh, Chief Editor, Prabhat Khabar. Prof. (Dr) L. N. Bhagat, Vice Chancellor, Ranchi University, Ranchi was the chief guest and Sh. K. K. Sone, I.A.S., Director, Agriculture Department, Government of Jharkhand was the guest of honour at the function. In addition, the dais was bejeweled by the esteemed presence of Dr. Shaibal Gupta, Member Secretary, ADRI, Patna.

The Programme
Akshar Jharkhand, the felicitation programme started at 2.00 p.m. by the screening of the literacy song - ‘Shiksha Ka Suraj'. The audience was mesmerized by the theme and presentation of the song which brought the house in tune with the programme. The ritualistic escorting of the guests to the dais was followed by welcoming of the guests by the SRC, ADRI officials. 

Sh. Harivansh, delivered the inaugural cum welcome address. His address to the vibrant, enthusiastic and dedicated team of literacy workers, functionaries and officials from every nook and corner of the state was highly welcomed. A huge round of applause that followed his speech was self explanatory of the vigour of the literacy initiative in the state. He appealed to take up literacy as a social commitment by the common mass to bring about a revolutionary change in the social life of the state.

Dr. Shaibal Gupta spoke at length to assert the importance of ‘backward' and ‘forward' linkages of education and literacy in the society. The chief guest, Prof. (Dr) L. N. Bhagat traced the importance of literacy initiative from international to national to the state level. He stressed upon the economic linkage between skill development and employment generation in the present context of literacy to set forth a futuristic perspective. Nevertheless, Sh. K. K. Sone, carried away the august audience by saluting the nobility of the literacy initiative in Jharkhand. The entire auditorium applauded when he announced with pride that he had been the recipient of the Akshar Ratna award in the year 2009, though he could not attend at that time yet he took the opportunity to thank the SRC, ADRI, Ranchi to have given him an occasion to be a part of the programme once again. He narrated his personal observations and shared his experiences which were well imbibed by the audience. He discussed finer intricacies of the literacy programme and its functioning at the local level governance. The experience sharing was followed by the felicitation programme. 

  • The awards were presented under four categories viz- 
  • Best Voluntary Teacher
  • Best Prerak
  • Outstanding performing Lok Shiksha Kendra
  • Outstanding performing Zila Saaksharta Samiti

Akshar Ratna was awarded to six Zila Saaksharta Samitis. The recipients were -

  • Zila Saaksharta Vahini, Dhanbad;
  • Zila Saaksharta Samiti, Hazaribagh;
  • Zila Saaksharta Samiti, Ranchi;
  • Zila Saaksharta Samiti, Lohardaga;
  • Zila Saaksharta Samiti, Giridih;
  • Zila Saaksharta Samiti, Deogarh.

Sh. Rahul Kumar Purwar, I.A.S., D.C., Deoghar and Dr. Manish Ranjan, I.A.S., D.C., Hazaribagh represented their district and collected the award. The house applauded for their presence and their commitment to literacy was appreciated by the dignitaries. They were instrumental in setting new targets for others and their presence catalyzed moral and ethical binding among the literacy workers. 

Akshar Sri was awarded to nine Lok Shiksha Kendras exhibiting outstanding performance in the implementation of Saakshar Bharat programme. The recipients were -

  • Lok Shiksha Kendra, Chedra, Hazaribagh
  • Lok Shiksha Kendra, Baradaha, Dhanbad
  • Lok Shiksha Kendra, Tau, Ranchi
  • Lok Shiksha Kendra,Bejakura, Deogarh
  • Lok Shiksha Kendra, Jarihi, Garwah
  • Lok Shiksha Kendra, Khurjiyo, Giridih
  • Lok Shiksha Kendra, Bhatkhijri, Lohardaga
  • Lok Shiksha Kendra, Kokacho, West Singhbhum
  • Lok Shiksha Kendra, Bandarjori, Dumka

Under the implementation of the Saakshar Bharat programme, best Prerak award was awarded to Preraks from Hazaribagh, Dhanbad, Ranchi, Deoghar, Lohardaga, Garwah, Giridih, West Singhbhum and Dumka districts. In all 17 Preraks were awarded, out of which 9 were females and 8 were male recipients.

Under the implementation of the Saakshar Bharat programme, best Voluntary Teacher (V.T.) award was awarded to the voluntary teachers from Ranchi, Hazaribagh, Dhanbad and Dumka districts. In all 7 voluntary teachers were awarded, out of which 5 were female and 2 were male recipients. An analysis of the gender dimension of the recipients suggested a pro-literacy drive among the females as compared to males in the state.

The programme was attended by more than 500 participants from various parts of the state.